Try Other Approaches to Help Your Sensitive Child to Get Sleep

If you have been following my blog, you would have noticed that I tried different tactics to improve my son’s sleeping patterns, and I found out that many things help a little bit.  Some approaches have not yet been approved in scientific studies, but that does not mean they are ineffective.  I learned that when we understand our child’s sensory signals, we will know what sensory tools and strategies can help our child in fall asleep and stay asleep through the night.

I also know that each child with sensory processing disorder is different, and therefore the course of treatment will vary.  Carol Stock Kranowitz, author of “The Out-of-Sync Child: Recognizing and Coping with Sensory Integration Dysfunction,” shows that many neurological problems and symptoms overlap and children may have dysfunctions in more than one area.

For instance, my son not only has the problem of sleeping, but also acid reflux, and hyperactivity. These issues are related to one another and can affect the child’s eating, learning and behavior patterns. This variety of symptoms has helped me to understand why doctors do not prescribe drugs to treat sensory processing disorder. It is very complex; however, parents cannot just sit back, and do nothing.

For example, we know that acid reflux is an issue that can impact a sensitive child’s ability to sleep.  My son has this condition, and I am treating this problem by giving my child Apple Cider Vinegar before meals. I have noticed that this alternative medicine is helping him to stop burping after eating his meals.

Another alternative treatment that I sometimes give my son is an Epsom salt bath. However, I think it is always important to discuss the sleep difficulties with the child’s doctor before using any supplements or medications.

I hope my experience of having a child with sensory problems has served other parents who have children with sleep difficulties. I would like to thank all those who have been reading these posts and commenting. I am going to take a break from this blog while I gather new material to write about.  In the meantime, have a wonderful holiday and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

