Sensory Nutrition For Sleeping

chicken-559892_960_720

After I found out that Proprioceptive sense plays an important role in our body in helping us to get a restful night’s sleep, I discovered that the proprioceptive system has a subsystem called the Interoceptor System. It is a visceral sensory receptor that communicates our body’s feeling of hunger, the need to get sleep, the want to go to the bathroom and other internal organ sensations.

At that time I understood I needed to find a nutritional supplement to complement my son’s sensory diet in order to get him to sleep.  I started looking for more information and found the book “The Second Brain” written by the neurobiologist Michael Gershon. In his book, he highlights that the 95 percent of our body’s serotonin is found in our bowels.    Ever since, I have been looking for supplements that might work, like natural sleeping pills, and I found some food that helps my son to get a restful sleep. These foods are called “sleepers” because they have an amino acid (tryptophan) that our body uses to make serotonin and melatonin (neurochemicals) that help our brain to relax and makes us sleep. Some of these nutrients are calcium and magnesium that are found in whole-grain cereals, sunflower seeds, spinach, tofu, and nuts.

So what makes a good recipe to get a sensitive child to sleep?  The best sleeper foods contain protein, healthy carbs, some calcium, and magnesium. For a while I used a delicious smoothie recipe that someone gave me when I was waiting for my doctor in the appointment room:

1 cup of almond milk

1 banana

½ cup yogurt

4 ounces tofu

1 tbsp. ground flaxseed meal

1 pinch of cinnamon

I blended everything, and my son and I enjoyed this smoothie two hours before going to bed. Definitely, this drink impacted in a positive way our sleep.   Please! Just remember what our children eat affects their ability to get a good night sleep.

In my next post, I will continue describing details about the vestibular sense and how this affects my son’s sleeping.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sensory Nutrition For Sleeping

  1. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I really enjoyed reading your posts and the recipe you provided. Does the intake of food greatly affect your child’s sleep pattern? How did you come to discover the different foods for sleep?
    CS5711

    Like

  2. Hi Dear! Thank you for reading my post. By reading different books, I find out that there are natural foods that contain melatonin, tryptophan, magnesium and potassium that help us to get a restful sleep. #cs5711.

    Like

Leave a Reply

