Knowing The Proprioceptive Sense

strength-strong-toy-action-figure-medium

I will describe some signs of proprioception sense from my perspective, as a mom who is raising a child with sensory needs.

I identify this need when my child is either over or under responsive to information from his surroundings.  His proprioceptive system is not regulated, which means that his muscles and joints (channels of information) do not take the right messages to his brain. As a result, he is out of sync, and his body is actively seeking for intense sensory experiences. For example:

With extreme force, he engages in jumping on a trampoline, wrestling, crashing car toys and slamming doors

He likes moving his body in circles and rocking it

Walks with heavy feet that sound like stomping

Kicks floor or chair while sitting

Likes to chew on straws, clothes, and suck on his fingers

He enjoys walking and playing in the dark

He likes deep pressure like tight bear hugs

Most boys can often be described in this manner without the other complications of the proprioceptive disorder.  However, it is very important to know how sensory processing can affect behavior and why children might be behaving in a certain way. Some parents are unaware of this particular sense, and they think that their children just need more discipline or they are in need of a “time out.” Also, the signs may be confused with symptoms of mild autism and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) symptoms.

Here are other signs that I notice when my child avoids proprioceptive input:

He is sensitive to bright lights and complains that normal light is too bright

He refuses to take a bath and dislikes water on his face

Complains about smells

Dislikes having people too close

He is a picky eater and has acid reflux

He covers his ears during loud noises (vacuum, blender, hand dryers)

The solution for my son is the balancing act of trying to control the amount, intensity and duration of sensory input coming into his body. We practice sensory diet every day to help regulate his nervous system and be able to get a restful sleep. This is not an easy task for a child or a parent.  Remember, sensory processing might be experienced in children in different ways. One or more of the senses can be affected, and one may be affected more than another. It depends on how that particular child’s brain is processing information. It is vital to get a correct diagnosis because the treatments can be very different for all of these disorders.

In my next post, I will share a healthy recipe that helps my child to sleep.

One thought on “Knowing The Proprioceptive Sense

  1. What first caught my attention about your blog were the soft pastel colors that greeted me on the homepage. I liked the wallpaper with the flower prints and the happy red apple icon. Coming into this blog, I had no idea what the Proprioceptive Sense was. Your blog post was thus really informative and taught me about it. Following are my comments/suggestions on this post.

    I really liked the image of the martial arts action figure. I felt this has the hook that baited me to read this post. It connects with the post and the blog inasmuch as you mention your child.

    I detected to grammar/syntax errors. These errors are not spelling errors they are grammatical. Thus I don’t think a word editor like Microsoft Word with the spell check tool will be much help. I would suggest sharing it with a friend to review prior to posting.

    I would recommend that you number or bullet-point your list of signs/reactions of a child avoiding proprioceptive input. It would give a more polish look to your post.

    I liked how at the end of the post you invite us to return the following week. By stating that you will be sharing a health recipe that puts your child to sleep is a good technique. Not only do you leave us wanting to know more but also, you are offering a home remedy.

    Overall, I felt this blog post was really informative and fun to read. Keep up the good blog work!

    ~ Glen Salazar #CS5711

    Like

Leave a Reply

